Create a Pop Art Style Poster with Urban City Background in Photoshop

In this tutorial, I will show you the process I used to create this Pop Art Style Poster with urban city background in Photoshop by using a combination of Photoshop Filter effects. Again this effect is discovered by accident and I thought I can share it with you guys :)

Along the way, we will be using a lot of filter effects, masking technique, layer blending options, a number of selection techniques including the use of edge refining and magic wand. The steps are quite simple for this tutorial, however the end result looks good in my opinion. Have a try!

Here is a preview of final image for this tutorial:

pop-art-urban-poster-final-3

Black and White version:

pop-art-urban-poster-final-4

Ok let’s get started!

Step 1

Firstly let’s download this wonderful model image and load it into Photoshop. Duplicate the background layer once and go to Filter > Artistic > Cutout and apply the following settings:

1-cutout

Name this duplicated layer as “cut out” and change the blending mode of it to “Hard Light”. Then make another duplication of this “cut out” layer and you will have the following effect:

1-effect-1

Now you will see the the bottom part of the photo is completely black, which is not very nice in my opinion. To reveal the original image, we can add a vector mask to each “cut out” layer and grab a big soft eraser to erase the portion as shown below:

1-vector-mask

And you will see the original texture come back:

1-effect

Step 2

Go back to the background layer and make another duplication of it. Drag the duplicated layer on top of all previous layer and go to Filter > Sketch > Chrome and apply the following settings:

2-chrome

Name this duplicated layer as “chrome” and change the layer blending mode to “soft light”. Then duplicate the “chrome” once more and you will have the following effect:

2-effect

Step 3

Now we can add a light source (I chose from the top right) for this image so later on we can have some dynamic light effect. To do this, go back to the background layer and duplicate it once more. Drag the duplicate layer above all other layers, go to Filter > Noise > Median and apply the following settings:

3-median

Rename this layer as “Median” and add a vector mask to it, grab a big soft eraser and erase the portion as shown below:

3-mask

And you will have the folloiwng effect so far:

3-effect

Step 4

Now we can add a urban city background to the image. Download a copy of this city image and load it into Photoshop. Drag the entire image onto our canvas and resize until it covers the whole canvas.

On this newly created layer, apply the following adjustments:

Black and White

4-black-and-white

4-curve

Then apply the following filters:

Halftone Pattern

4-half-tone

Box Blur

4-box-blur

Name this layer as “city” and you will have the following effect as a result:

4-effect

Step 5

Go back to the background layer, grab the Magic Wand tool and make a selection of the white area:

5-magic-wand

Hit Ctrl + Alt + R and bring up the Refine Edge tool, apply the following settings:

5-refine-edge

Hit Ctrl + Shift + I and inverse the selection, go back to the “city” layer and go to Edit > Clear and you will have see the model image pop out:

5-effect

Step 6

Duplicate the “city” layer once and on the duplicated layer, go to Filter > Blur > Radial Blur and apply the following settings:

6-blur

Change the blending mode the duplicated layer to “Screen” and you will have the following effect:

6-effect

Make a duplicate of this duplicate layer, and change the layer blending mode to “color burn”. You will have the following effect:

6-effect-2

Step 7

Now the upper portion of the image seems a bit empty and we can add a bit of cloud texture to it. So download a copy of this cloud brushset and simply create a new layer and paint some cloud over it:

7-cloud

Hint: to create a light source on the cloud, simply paint over the same position a few times. (In this case, it’s top right corner)

Step 8

To finalise the image, add two new adjustment layers as shown below:

Colour Balance

Shadow

8-col-bal-1

Midtones

8-col-bal-2

Curves

8-curves

And you will have the following effect:

8-effect

Ok that’s it for this tutorial! You can of course add some of your own texture or filter effect and see what the end results are!

Here is my final image for this tutorial: (I slightly adjusted the colour balance and ) – Click to enlarge:

pop-art-urban-poster-final-3

Black and White version:

pop-art-urban-poster-final-4

Cheers and have a nice day!

Read More......

coloring lips with photoshop

coloring lips with photoshop

this is one of my cool trick on photoshop tutorial, coloring lips with simple steps, but i think it's will better to understand about "make selection using pen tool" before you do this trick, if you already see it, lets start dude...
1. take your object
2. then make selection on the lips using pen tool


3. make selection and 1 px for feather
4. change the color using "hue/saturation" by pressing Ctrl+ U


5. finish!!simple, isn't it??

Read More......

Replicate Google’s Logo

Have you ever wanted to make your logo look like the google logo? Well in this tutorial I will be showing you how to replicate google’s logo in Adobe Photoshop.

Step 1.

Create a new document (File>New) size doesn’t matter but I made mine 400 x 400 px with
a White Background.

Step 2.

Use the Text tool to write your company name, in this case Google. I used the font Catull, if you do not have this font you can use Times New Roman.

google logo tutorial 1

Step 3.

Now you have to change the colour of each letter by highlighting the letter and selecting the colour. Use the colours that I have specified below.
google logo tutorial 2

Step 4.

Now we go to Blending option (Layer>Layer Styles>Blending options) And we use the following settings.

google logo tutorial 3

google logo tutorial 4

Step 5.

Now we have to add some lighting effects, we do this by going to (Filter>Render>Lighting Effects) use the following settings.

google logo tutorial 5

Now you are done you should having something that looks similar to this and the Google logo.

google logo tutorial 6

Read More......

Dream Photo Effect

I'll show you how to create dream photo effect.

Step 1: First open any image.

Step 2: Duplicate the layer For create nice dream effect go to Image> Adjustments> Photo Filter and apply these settings:

Step 3: Now go to Filter> Blur> Gaussian Blur and apply these settings:

Step 4: Change the layer mode to Multiply and adjust the opacity slider according to requirement. In this image I use opacity to 80%.

Step 5: Then go to Image> Adjustments> Levels and select "Red" Channel.

Step 6: Duplicate the layer and change the mode back to Normal.
Go to Filter> Distort> Diffuse Glow and apply these settings:

Step 7: Reduce the opacity of the layer according to requirements. I use opacity 70%.

Step 8: In the final step go to Image> Adjustments> Brightness/Contrast and use these ettings:

Here's is the Final Result!:

Read More......

Colorizing a Black and White Photo

1. Open your Black and White photograph in Photoshop.



2. Click the "Edit in Quick Mask Mode" toggle button to enter Quick Mask Mode (or press Q).
3. Select a brush size appropriate for the size of your photograph. Choose Black as your foreground color.
4. Paint the area that you want to color. The paint will be a transparent red. This indicates where you are painting the mask.



5. For the face in this tutorial, I painted everywhere that was skin, so that I can add the color of the skin to the face.



6. Click the "Edit in Standard Mode" toggle button (or press Q).
7. Goto Select > Inverse.
8. The area that you want to color should now be selected.



9. Goto Image > Adjustment > Color Balance...
10. Adjust the sliders to get the color that you want.



11. Click OK and you should now have the selected area colorized.



12. Follow Steps 2 thru 11 for the other parts of the photo that you want to color.
13. Below I selected and colored the lips:



14. Then I selected and colored the eyes:



15. When you are done selecting and coloring every part of your black and white photo, you will have a colorized photograph!

Read More......